Living in Spain, warts and all

Addicted

I can control this. I’m on top of it. Breathe deeply and calm yourself, woman!

It started out as a harmless bit of fun. Buy a few beads, make some jewellery for myself and for friends – an ideal present here and there – a hobby, for God’s sake.

So how did it come to this? Beads, threads, wires, needles, findings, patterns, you name it, all spilling out of cupboards and drawers. A beading mat with a half-finished project on the coffee table; a tray with collections of ideas, little piles of beads of all shapes and sizes and colour mixes gathered during flashes of inspiration, anticipatory; threads trailing on furniture and on my clothes, unheeded by the obsessed mind looking for its next fix.

Divorceable issues like escapist glass beads, crunchy underfoot; a carelessly-dropped needle lurking ready to attack; too much time hogging the internet as I yield helplessly to the addiction and slaver over those beautiful little orbs begging me to chase the deal. The credit card groaning as a small order turns into a spendfest, uncontrollable and merciless in its unconquerable attraction.

I’ve got it covered, though. I haven’t indulged for two weeks now. The shakes are almost gone. I can think rationally – I know I don’t need more beads; I have enough clasps; I have more than sufficient jewellery.

And then – oh, no, no, not that, please!! Anything but that …

I open my inbox and there, challenging me openly and without shame, is an email from my very favourite supplier, Beads Direct,  that screams at me, ‘MAMMOTH SALE’.

Aaaaaaggghhhhh ….

Comments on: "Addicted" (9)

  1. OK guys, I know that this is somewhat random for me.
    It’s a competition entry. I haven’t lost the plot.

    Normal service will be resumed shortly

    xx

  2. I was beginning to wonder. I thought, how does she find the time? Has she lost the plot? I’m mightily relieved.

    • Well, as a matter of fact, I do make beaded jewellery; further, I actually teach it to others at classes two mornings a week. So I have to find time.

      The plot? Not sure I ever had it to lose …

  3. shouldn’t you be mucking out the parrots?

  4. 🙂 we don’t think you’ve lost the plot hehe xx

    • Hi Claire – thanks for your support. They just don’t understand …
      But you’d probably see what they’re all getting at if you read the rest of the blog – I’m always bleating about having too much to do and so little time …

  5. Religious expletive coming up …Oh My God! (Oh My Goddess is all right since we Scottish feminists invoke Hur in this way). Deb, I don´t know where you get the time or the energy but I´m glad you do. Some addictions are necessary, an expression of the Divine in One´s Spare Time. I´m a recovering Cross Stitch addict – you see, old rugged cross, goddy person, four directions, religion – but that mention of the dangerous needle makes me want to thread up again! I´ve never used beads but I do want to make a bead curtain with the swooniferous swarovski crystals for my study where they will glint zenly in the breeze (well, the breeze provided by the fan since there´s no air in Alcalá). Can you give me an idea or Twelve? (No, not religous this time). I don´t know how you manage, what with the birds, since I´ve had a hard time with my two cats who love to eat thread. And yes I like to leave long comments so…….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

